VA SB 634
Status unknownPetition for modification of a sentence; eligibility, procedures, report.
Virginia · 2026 Regular Session · upper
Quick answers
Did VA SB 634 pass?
The current status of VA SB 634 is not known from the official record. Latest recorded action (2026-02-04): Stricken at request of Patron in Courts of Justice (15-Y 0-N)
What is VA SB 634 about?
Petition for modification of a sentence; eligibility; procedures; report. Provides procedures for individuals serving a sentence for certain felony convictions or a combination of such convictions who remain incarcerated in a state or local correctional facility or secure facility and meet certain criteria to petition the circuit court that entered the original judgment or order to (i) suspend the unserved portion of such sentence or run the unserved portion of such sentence concurrently with another sentence, (ii) place such person on probation for such time as the court shall determine, or (iii) otherwise modify the sentence imposed. Depending on the type of conviction, the bill allows the court to grant a hearing on such petition after an individual has served at least 25 years for certain offenses, after 20 years for certain other offenses, and after 15 years for any other felony conviction not specified. The bill directs the Department of Corrections to convene a work group of relevant stakeholders to (a) consider and recommend best practices for implementation of the bill and (b) evaluate and recommend updates to victim notification systems. The work group shall complete its meetings by November 1, 2026, and report its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly no later than December 1, 2026.
Who sponsors VA SB 634?
R. Creigh Deeds is the primary sponsor of VA SB 634.
Description
Petition for modification of a sentence; eligibility; procedures; report. Provides procedures for individuals serving a sentence for certain felony convictions or a combination of such convictions who remain incarcerated in a state or local correctional facility or secure facility and meet certain criteria to petition the circuit court that entered the original judgment or order to (i) suspend the unserved portion of such sentence or run the unserved portion of such sentence concurrently with another sentence, (ii) place such person on probation for such time as the court shall determine, or (iii) otherwise modify the sentence imposed. Depending on the type of conviction, the bill allows the court to grant a hearing on such petition after an individual has served at least 25 years for certain offenses, after 20 years for certain other offenses, and after 15 years for any other felony conviction not specified. The bill directs the Department of Corrections to convene a work group of relevant stakeholders to (a) consider and recommend best practices for implementation of the bill and (b) evaluate and recommend updates to victim notification systems. The work group shall complete its meetings by November 1, 2026, and report its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly no later than December 1, 2026.
- Introduced
- 2026-01-14
- Latest action
- 2026-02-04 — Stricken at request of Patron in Courts of Justice (15-Y 0-N)
- Bill type
- bill
- Last updated
- —
Sponsors
- R. Creigh Deedsprimary
Committees
Not provided by source.
Action timeline
2026-01-14
Prefiled and ordered printed; Offered 01-14-2026 26104846D
filing,introduction
2026-01-14
Referred to Committee for Courts of Justice
referral-committee
2026-01-30
Fiscal Impact Statement from Department of Planning and Budget (SB634)
2026-02-04
Stricken at request of Patron in Courts of Justice (15-Y 0-N)
Versions
Documents
Votes
Stricken at request of Patron in Courts of Justice
2026-02-04 · pass · 15-0
Member-level votes (15)
- Scott A. Surovell: yes
- Mark D. Obenshain: yes
- Ryan T. McDougle: yes
- R. Creigh Deeds: yes
- Richard H. Stuart: yes
- William M. Stanley, Jr.: yes
- Jennifer B. Boysko: yes
- Mark J. Peake: yes
- Lamont Bagby: yes
- Lashrecse D. Aird: yes
- Jennifer D. Carroll Foy: yes
- Russet Perry: yes
- Saddam Azlan Salim: yes
- Barbara A. Favola: yes
- Glen H. Sturtevant, Jr.: yes
Related bills
No related bills recorded for this bill.
Official source
Attribution
Data from openstates_bulk_csv, retrieved 2026-07-24T05:35:59.552682Z
Inspect retained evidence for changes recorded after evidence tracking began:
Use this data
Every field on this page is available from the free public API — no key or licence required. Fetch this bill as JSON: GET /api/v1/bills?jurisdiction=VA&identifier=SB 634. See the API docs or the MCP server for AI assistants.
Known limitations
- Sponsor party and chamber affiliation are not yet captured by this API.
- Committee referrals are not yet captured.
See the methodology page for data sources and limitations.